media release

AkzoNobel names Thierry Vanlancker as future head of Specialty Chemicals

AkzoNobel has named Thierry F.J. Vanlancker as the future Executive Committee member responsible for Specialty Chemicals, effective February 1, 2017. He will succeed Werner Fuhrmann, who has decided to retire from the company next year, after 37 years of service.

Vanlancker, a Belgian national, was most recently President – Fluoroproducts for Chemours, the spin-off company of DuPont's chemical businesses formed in 2015. He joined DuPont in 1988 and has held a number of senior positions both in Europe and the US.

Commenting on the announcement, AkzoNobel CEO Ton Büchner said: “We are delighted to have such an experienced chemical industry professional as Thierry join AkzoNobel. We look forward to him building on the fantastic momentum Werner has achieved, taking the Specialty Chemicals business to new levels.”

Vanlancker added: “I am delighted to be taking up this role at AkzoNobel, a company I greatly admire. I am looking forward to helping the company and the Specialty Chemicals business achieve its vision of delivering leading performance and profitable growth.”

Thierry Vanlancker

Contact for this publication

Media Relations

For media requests only
Contact for other questions