media release

AkzoNobel shareholders adopt all resolutions, approve dividend at AGM

Shareholders of Akzo Nobel N.V. (AkzoNobel) adopted all the resolutions at today’s Annual General Meeting (AGM). As well as adopting the company’s 2014 financial statements, it was agreed that the 2014 financial year dividend would be €1.45 (2013: €1.45) per common share. An interim dividend of €0.33 was paid in November 2014, which means the final payment will be €1.12 per share.

The final dividend will be paid on May 19, 2015. Under the conditions to be published by the company, and at the shareholder’s election, this dividend will be paid either in cash or in stock. The AkzoNobel shares will be traded ex-dividend on Euronext Amsterdam as of April 24, 2015. The record date is April 27, 2015.

Board changes

During 2014, the Supervisory Board lost a valued member when Mr. Dolf van den Brink passed away in December. Paying tribute to his former colleague, Supervisory Board Chairman Antony Burgmans said: "Dolf was a valued and trusted member of AkzoNobel’s Supervisory Board for ten years. He brought a great deal of wisdom and professional expertise to the company and leaves a professional legacy which we will continue to draw from." Mr. Hughes acted as interim chairman of the Audit Committee to replace Mr. Van den Brink.

Mrs. Peggy Bruzelius was re-appointed to the Supervisory Board for a third term of office. Mr. Uwe-Ernst Bufe stepped down from the Supervisory Board at the AGM, having completed the maximum of three terms of office since joining in 2003. Mr. Dick Sluimers was appointed to the Supervisory Board for a first term of office.

Said Mr. Burgmans: "We would like to thank Uwe-Ernst Bufe for his commitment to the work of the Supervisory Board over the past 12 years and wish him well in his future activities. We are also pleased to welcome Mr. Sluimers to AkzoNobel. He is a recognized expert in finance and will bring a wealth of experience in both public and private sector finance and commercial management. We wish him every success in his new role."

Supervisory Board Committees

The changes to the membership of the Supervisory Board have also led to changes in the membership of its committees:

  • Mr. Sluimers has been appointed to the Audit Committee, joining Mrs. Bruzelius, Mr. Hughes and Mr. Grote.
  • Mr. Grote has been appointed as chairman of the Audit Committee.


Contact for this publication

Media Relations

For media requests only
Contact for other questions