This website uses cookies. They allow us to optimize your browsing experience and also help us to understand how you use our site. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies. Cookie information page

AkzoNobel Science Awards

The AkzoNobel Science Awards are presented in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions by individuals in the fields of chemistry and materials science.

First bestowed in the Netherlands in 1970 – when it was known as the Akzo Prize – the award was extended to Sweden in 1999, and re-named the AkzoNobel Science Award.

Reflecting the increasingly global nature of the company, the Award was extended to China in 2010, the United Kingdom in 2012 and North America in 2013.

Award winners are selected by independent panels set up by respected and learned organizations in all four countries. In the Netherlands, our partner is the Royal Holland Society of Sciences & Humanities (KHMW); in Sweden, our partner is the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA); in China, our partner is the Chinese Chemical Society (CCS); in the United Kingdom our partner is the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC); and in North America our partner is the American Chemical Society (ACS).


Previous Awards

Previous Award Winners