media release

AkzoNobel Announces Supervisory Board Changes

It is announced today that Mr. Maarten van den Bergh, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, has informed the Board of Management that he wishes to resign from both being Chairman, and as a member, of the Supervisory Board of AkzoNobel. This is due to temporary ill health following an accident. Mr. van den Bergh’s resignation takes place with immediate effect.

Mr. van den Bergh has been heavily involved in the transformation process of the past years, where his significant experience and wise counsel has been of great importance to the Board of Management. The company wishes to express its gratitude and appreciation for his invaluable contribution during these historic years.

It will be proposed to the shareholders that Mr. Karel Vuursteen will be appointed as Chairman of the Supervisory Board. Mr. Vuursteen was appointed as a member of the Supervisory Board of AkzoNobel in 2002, followed by his appointment as Deputy Chairman in 2006. Mr. Vuursteen brings a wealth of international business experience, and inside knowledge of AkzoNobel, to his proposed position as Chairman. Mr Vuursteen is a former CEO of Heineken and is also a member of the Supervisory Boards of ING Group, TOMTOM N.V. and Henkel AG.

Contact for this publication

Contact for other questions