media release

Winners of Akzo Nobel Nordic Prize Announced

The Akzo Nobel Nordic Prize in Surface and Colloid Chemistry for 2004 has been shared between Dr Morten Østergaard Jensen and Dr Gisle Øye.

Jensen (34) was recognized for his research into the molecular dynamics of proteins, biomembranes—especially water channels—and interfaces. His work has far-reaching practical implications concerning pharmaceutical formulations, water structure at interfaces, the structure of adsorbed layers and wetting.

Øye (32) conducts research with plasmachemical methods with the aim of obtaining controlled oxidation of asphaltene molecules and investigates the stability of model emulsions. He also works with the design and preparation of catalysts and supports.

The SEK 50,000 prize—which was launched in 1985—is awarded annually to a prominent young researcher within the field of surface and colloidal science, who is chosen from nominations made by a special scientific committee.

(Released: September 27, 2004)

Contact for this publication

Contact for other questions